IESA announces new leadership

29th April 2016
IESA announces new leadership

Bangalore, April 29, 2016: The India Electronics and Semiconductor Association (IESA),  has  announced that  K. Krishna Moorthy, Corporate VP and Managing Director, Rambus Chip Technologies who was earlier the Vice Chairman for 2015-16,   is to be the Chairman for the year 2016-17. Ashwini K Aggarwal,  Director, Govt. Affairs Applied Materials India  would be the new Vice Chairman of IESA and Anilkumar Muniswamy, Director, SLN Technologies  will serve as the new Treasurer.
Krishna (pictured, left),  has more than 35 years of experience in the field of electronics, covering a wide spectrum of functions from Silicon design, System design, System engineering, and high performance IP design in deep sub micro processes and engineering management. He is credited to have designed the first ASIC in India in 1987 that went into volume production and used in many Secure Defense Communication systems. He works with premier engineering schools in India to foster Industry/Academia relationship and played a key role in setting up the Advanced VLSI lab in IIT Kharagpur 10 years ago which today produces many high quality engineers with IC design experience.  At Rambus, he is responsible for the complete operations of the design centre and prior to that he was the Director of engineering and subsequently Managing Director of National Semiconductor.
Says Krishna: “It's an exciting time for India’s electronics industry, with IESA leading the conversation to strengthen India’s electronics design and manufacturing (ESDM) dynamics. When IESA coined the term ESDM about eight years ago, we never thought that this will become the next big wave of growth and investment in the country. The central government has recognized the importance of this sector which is evident from its recent initiatives like Digital India, Make in India and Skill India etc. all which auger very well for the ESDM industry. I am honored to have been asked to take this role and enthusiastic about the possibilities present in the ESDM landscape. "
M.N. Vidyashankar, President, India Electronics and Semiconductor Association (IESA)  adds: “While thanking the outgoing chairman and the executive council, we are really fortunate to welcome Krishna as the new chairman with his wide ranging experience in system and silicon products and IP design. We look forward to strengthen the ESDM ecosystem with his focused approach towards building entrepreneurship and start up culture, innovation, strong industry-academia relations and nurture skill creation in the country’s electronics design and manufacturing industry.”