Bharat web domain launched with Indian script

28th August 2014
Bharat web  domain launched with Indian script
Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad launching the Bharat Domain Name in Devanagari Script, New Delhi, August 27, 2014.

New Delhi, August 28, 2014: The Bharat Domain Name in Devanagari Script is now a reality: The Indian Minister for Communications & Information Technology , Ravi Shankar Prasad launched the domain yesterday -- an initiative that covers Hindi, Bodo, Dogri, Konkani, Maithili, Marathi, Nepali and Sindhi, languages which use the script.
The National Internet Exchange of India (NIXI) has announced that .IN Registry is now available for the  Bharat domain name (भारत written in Devanagari script).
This is soon to be followed in the coming months by similar launches in regional languages such as Tamil, Gujarati, Punjabi, Urdu, Telugu and Bangala etc.
Speaking at the function the minister said, the recently launched Digital India project   aimed to offer a one-stop shop for government services and would use the mobile phone as the backbone of its delivery mechanism. Digital India promises to transform India into a connected knowledge economy offering world-class services at the click of a mouse and will be implemented in a phased manner. The plans to digitally connect the entire country will be supported by 20- and 40-hour modules on digital literacy in regional languages, which the government plans to run over the next few years. The government is bringing the open access to "broadband highways" across cities, towns and villages would also give a fillip to trade across the country.
A day earlier, Mr Ravi Shankar Prasad also  chaired a conference of IT Ministers and IT Secretaries of Indian states and union territories, to discuss the ‘Digital India’ programme. IT Ministers from 10 states, namely Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Goa, Gujarat, Jammu and Kashmir, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Orissa, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh participated in the conference. IT Secretaries and senior officials from the IT Department from 33 States/UTs also participated in the conference.