Kofi Annan joins to honor Infosys Prize winners for 2013

09th February 2014
Kofi Annan joins to honor Infosys Prize winners for 2013
The winners of the Infosys Prize 2013 ( from left) Nayanjot Lahiri, Rajesh S Gokhale, V Ramgopal Rao, Aninhalli R Vasavi, Shiraz Minwalla, Rahul Pandharipande and Ayesha Kidwai with Kofi Annan, N R Narayana Murthy and Srinath Batni of the Infosys Science Foundation (4th from right) at the award ceremony in Bangalore February 8 2014.

Bangalore - February 10, 2014: The Infosys Science Foundation (ISF) has honored top researchers in basic and applied sciences during 2013 with the Infosys Prize. Kofi A. Annan, Chair of the Kofi Annan Foundation and former Secretary-General of the United Nations was on hand at a ceremony here on February 8 to felicitate the winners across six categories - Engineering & Computer Science, Humanities, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Physical Sciences and Social Sciences.
The seven winners of the Infosys Prize 2013 are - Prof. Ramgopal Rao for Engineering and Computer Science; Prof. Nayanjot Lahiri for Archaeology and Prof. Ayesha Kidwai for Linguistics under the Humanities category; Dr. Rajesh Gokhale for Life Sciences; Prof. Rahul Pandharipande for Mathematics; Prof. Shiraz Naval Minwalla for Physical Sciences and Prof. Aninhalli R. Vasavi for Social Sciences.
The winners were selected from a pool of 216 nominations by a panel comprising of renowned experts and academicians, led by six jury chairs - Pradeep K. Khosla, Engineering and Computer Science; Amartya Sen, Humanities; Inder Verma, Life Sciences; Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan, Mathematics; Shrinivas Kulkarni, Physical Sciences and Kaushik Basu, Social Sciences
The prize in each category comprises of a gold medallion, a citation expounding the laureate’s work and Rs 55 lakh (US$ 87,000 approximately) as tax-free prize money This year’s prize in the Humanities category is split equally between the two winners.
To mark its fifth year anniversary, the foundation has published a commemorative book containing the essence of the work done by the Infosys Prize laureates. To know more about this year's winners and their work click here.