Indian efforts in nano technology honoured

06th December 2013
Indian  efforts in nano technology honoured

Bangalore, December7 2013: Asia's biggest annual nanoscience & nanotech event -- Bangalore INDIA NANO 2013 -- which concluded yesterday, saw Indian  innovation in Nano technology recognized through multiple awards.

The Bangalore INDIA NANO Innovation Award 2013 was presented by Nobel Laureate Prof. Sir Andre Geim, Royal Society Research Professor, School of Physics & Astronomy, University of Manchester, UK, to RESIL CHEMICALS PRIVATE LIMITED represented by  Ganesh Srinivasan and his team for the Technology: Antibacterial nanosilver synthesis technologies for textile products.

The Malhotra Weikfield Foundation NanoScience Fellowship Award for the year 2013 was presented Prof. C.N.R. Rao, National Research Professor with  cash prize of  Rs 50,000  each to:

Ali Hossain Khan - Senior Research Fellow, Center for Advanced Materials, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science (IACS) for his work "Highly Stable Luminescent Alloyed Nanocrystals for LED Fabrication".

Urmimala Maitra - Ph.D. Student, Chemistry & Physics of Materials Unit, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR) for "O2 Evolution and H2 Evolution Using Simple Inorganic Oxides and Sulphides"

K. Purushothaman CSIR - Senior Research Fellow Centre for Nanotechnology & Advanced Biomaterials School of Chemical and Biotechnology SASTRA University for "Fabrication and Characterization and Invitro Evaluation of Random and Aligned Nanofibrous Scaffolds for Esophageal Tissue Engineering"

Abhijit Hazarika - Senior Research Fellow, Solid State and Structural Chemistry Unit Indian Institute of Science (IISc)  for "Widely Tunable and Ultra Narrow Emission from Mn2+doped Semiconductor Nanocrystals"

Dr Sunaina Surana - Senior Research Scholar, National Centre for Biological Sciences, TIFR  for  " DNA Nanomachine Maps Spatiotemporal pH Changes in a Multicellular Living Organism"

Best Poster Awards 2013:

1st Prize: (Rs 30.000)  K. Gopalakrishnan  from JNCASR.  Title: Extraordinary Supercapacitor Performance of Heavily Nitrogenatedgraphene Oxide.

2nd Prize: (Rs 20,000)  Ranjith Ramachandran from Amrita Centre for Nanosciences & Molecular Medicine. Title: Flexible NANO-FIBROUS Polymeric Implant for Sustained Intracranial DUAL-DRUG Delivery Against Refractory Glioma.

3rd Prize: (Rs 15,000)  P. Vineeth Mohanan from Indian Institute of Science. Title: Investigation of Vortex Domain Walls in Magnetic Nanowires with a Geometrical Defect

4th Prize: (Rs 10,000)  Deepak Kumar Khajuria  of Al-Ameen College of Pharmacy. Title: Zoledronate Functionalized Hydroxyapatite Nanoparticle Formulation in Pharmacological Correction of Experimental Osteoporosis

5th Prize: (Rs 10,000)  Parth Dadhania from Indian Institute of Technology. Title: Development and Evaluation of Surface Modified pH Sensitive Curcumin Loaded Solid Lipid Nanoparticles for Colon Targeting.

Bangalore India Nano 2013 featured  2000 plus visitors, 702 Delegates, 48 speakers, 50 Exhibitors including 6 international; participants from 11 Countries and 245 Indian and International Organisations; 115 posters displayed and 6 startups featured.