Indians invited to vie for $ 4 million Future Energy Prize

New Delhi, February 8, 2014: The clock is ticking for submissions and nominations for the US$4 million 2015 Zayed Future Energy Prize: an annual award, recognises individuals, organisations and schools who have made significant strides to advance the fields of renewable energy and sustainability

Submissions are welcome globally across five categories: Large Corporation, Small and Medium Enterprise (SME), Non-Governmental Organisation (NGO), Lifetime Achievement and Global High Schools. In the Lifetime Achievement category, nominations will also be accepted.

Submissions and nominations are accepted online at:

“Throughout history, prizes have proven to be a mechanism to encourage innovation,” said Dr. Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber, Director General of the Zayed Future Energy Prize. “The Zayed Future Energy Prize is a commitment by the UAE’s government to incentivise people, organisations and schools to tackle today’s pressing energy and sustainability challenges.

He added: “Now in its seventh year, we are proud of the impact the Prize is delivering. From electrifying rural villages in Africa to accelerating to market energy-efficiency technologies, our winners and finalists are leaving a positive mark on the world. ”

The Zayed Future Energy Prize has awarded 30 winners across six continents and impacted millions of lives. Over the years, Prize winners have trained thousands of women as green technicians; delivered solar home systems to millions in Bangladesh; created access to safe drinking water to millions in Africa; and funded university scholarship to students around the world.

Winners of the 2014 Zayed Future Energy Prize, announced 20 January, include ABB, Abellon CleanEnergy, Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems, Wang Chuanfu, the founder and chairman of BYD Co Ltd, the Chinese auto and battery maker, and five high schools from across the globe.

Submissions and nominations will close on 14 July, 2014.