A student sets up his entry at the Freescale Cup contest, Bangalore, April 3 2015
Freescale Cup attracts 40 engineering colleges

Bangalore, April 4, 2015: One hundred teams from over 40 colleges across the country, competed this week, for the “2015 Freescale Cup”, organized by Freescale Semiconductor India in collaboration with Department of Electronic Systems Engineering (DESE), Indian Institute of Science (IISc), for the  4th year.
The competition requires students to develop a prototype racing car that can navigate a track staying within two black lines. Freescale provides model car kits and development tools based on Freescale microcontroller technology, training, and technical support to help prepare students for the challenge. The car that complete the track in the least amount of time is declared the winner of the event. Mathworks, ARM and Elektrobit are the global sponsors for the Freescale cup.
Says Baskar Dhandapani, Country Sales Manager, Freescale Semiconductor India said, “The Freescale Cup is an initiative to empower students with the knowledge and capability to match up to this pace and enrich their skills. It is in line with our efforts to strengthen university associations and also enable students to get hands on experience of working collectively and more importantly be innovative and creative. The students use next generation development tools provided by Freescale for designing their smart and intelligent cars which then race on a track to compete for the best time.”
Adds Prof. K V S Hari (IEEE fellow), Chairman, ECE, IISc: “This association of Indian Institute of Science (IISc) and Freescale has helped students to become the innovators of tomorrow. This platform gives students the opportunity to test their skills and also gain practical knowledge of how the electronics field works. It not only enables the students to be imaginative but also gives them a taste of what the future beholds.”
The Winners:
First prize:  Gnanamoorthy. M & Jawahar. N from  Bannari Amman Institute of Technology, Sathy ( Rs 200,000)
Second Prize:  Vikram B & Shanmugam T,  from Government College of Engineering ( Rs 100,000)
Pavithra K, Lalitha J and Nayeema Shah from Sri Shakthi Institute of Engineering  & Technology, Coimbatore ( Rs 50,000).