Custom Search

Three Indians figure in Marconi 2017 awards

Photos  From left:  1.  Dr. Thomas Kailath received the Marconi Lifetime Achievement Award, flanked by Dr Arogyaswami Paulraj and Dr John Cioffi.  2.   Arun Netravali's wife  Chita and son Ravi, receive the Marconi Prize  on his behalf, at the hands of Dr Vint Cerf  3.  Ananda Theertha Suresh receives the Marconi Young Scholar Award from Robert Tkach, Marconi Fellow and chair of the Young Scholar Selection Committee. 
Bangalore, October 11 2017:  In a rare display of Indian innovation,   persons of Indian  were named in all three categories   of Marconi   Awards that were  given away  last week at a function  at Summit, New Jersey (US).
Dr Thomas Kailath, legendary  Stanford University  emeritus professor received the Marconi Society's Lifetime Achievement Award.  The award recognizes Professor Kailath for his many transformative contributions to information and system science over six decades as well as his sustained mentoring and development of new generations of scientists. Earlier  recipients  have included  Claude Shannon, the 'father of Information Theory' and  Gordon Moore of "Moore's Law" fame. 
Dr Kailath received the award from two of his students at  Stanford who went on to become  Marconi Prize winners  for their own pioneering work:  Dr Arogyaswami Paulraj, inventor of the Multiple In Multple Out or MIMO technology that fuels all wireless communication today  and Dr John Cioffi, pioneer of Digital Subscriber  Line ( DSL) technology.
Said Dr Paulraj: "In honoring Prof Kailath we not only recognize his pioneering research in signal processing and systems theory, but perhaps more importantly, his ability to both attract strong students and to continue to mentor them - as they went on to become outstanding academics or corporate leaders or tech entrepreneurs.  Prof Kailath was John Cioffi’s PhD advisor in the early 80s and my Post-Doctoral advisor in 1991 after my pre-mature retirement from the Indian Navy. We are both recipients of Tom’s generosity and support over many decades – so it is with real gratitude that we present him the Lifetime Achievement Award of Marconi Society."
Paulraj added: " Tom always found ways to contribute to his home country. One example:  Tom was an Advisor to India’s Ministry of Defense that led to the setting up research cum training centers at the five IITs – India’s top engineering schools. These centres, modeled on MIT’s Lincoln Labs, went on train 100s of researchers who contributed to India’s defense programs.  More recently, he supported the creation of a Research Centre on Mathematical Engineering at the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. "
Dr Arun Netravali  the former President of Bell Labs (now Nokia Bell Labs)  was the winner of the $ 100,000  Marconi Prize for 2017.  Arun led pioneering work on video compression standards that served as the key base technology for  audio and video standards likeMPEG 1, 2 and 4 and enabled a wide range of video services including digital TV, HDTV, and streaming video, ushering in a digital video revolution.  The technology is used in most TV sets and all mobile phones today.  As Dr Netravali was indisposed, his award was received by his wife  Chita and son Ravi at the hands of another tech legend,   Dr Vint Cerf, the "Father of Internet".
Ananda Theertha Suresh, 28,  Google Research Scientist and  a PhD fromthe University of California, San Diego, received  the 2017 Paul Baran Young Scholar Award.  His work helps provide sophisticatedcommunications capabilities, to people with low bandwidth Internetconnections and low-end devices. He was one of 4 young scholar winner this year.
Established in 1974 by the daughter of Guglielmo Marconi, the Nobel Laureate who invented radio, the Marconi Society promotes awareness of key technology and policy issues in telecommunications and the Internet, and recognizes significant individual achievements through the Marconi Prize and Young Scholar Awards


Post Your Comments Now